Placeness and Well-being, Through the Lens of Infrastructure
book section
The Aga Khan Award for Architecture was established by His Highness the Aga Khan in 1977 to identify and encourage excellence in architecture and other forms of intervention in the built environment of societies with a Muslim presence. The Award is given every three years and recognizes all types of building projects that affect today's built environment. Smaller projects are given equal consideration as large-scale buildings. Richly illustrated and with explanatory texts, Architecture is Life, the monograph for the 2013 cycle, presents the 15 shortlisted and the 5 Award recipients. The 2013 cycle's topic is centered around the relationship between life and architecture. Numerous essays examine how architecture interacts with the life of people who inhabit it.

Source: Lars Muller Publishers and Aga Khan Award for Architecture

Kara, Hanif. "Placeness and Well-being, Through the Lens of Infrastructure.” In Architecture is Life, edited by Mohsen Mostafavi. Zurich: Lars Muller Publishers, 2013.
Parent Publications
Associated Sites
Aga Khan Award for Architecture and Lars Muller Publishers