Sir David Chipperfield

Sir David Chipperfield is a practicing architect and founder of David Chipperfield Architects. He studied architecture at the Kingston School of Art and the Architectural Association in London. He established David Chipperfield Architects in 1985 after working for Douglas Stephen, Richard Rogers and Norman Foster. He later set up offices in Berlin, Shanghai and Milan. The practice has built over 100 projects for both the private and public sectors.

Among the practice’s major completed works are the rebuilding of the Neues Museum in Berlin; an MBA building for the HEC Paris School of Management; the Museo Jumex in Mexico City; a redevelopment of the Royal Academy of Arts in London; the Amorepacific Headquarters in Seoul; and an extension building for the Kunsthaus Zurich. 

David Chipperfield Architects has received numerous awards for design excellence, including the RIBA Stirling Prize in 2007 for “The Museum of Modern Literature” in Marbach, Germany, and both the Mies van der Rohe Award (European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture) and the Deutscher Architekturpreis in 2011 for the “Neues Museum” in Berlin.

David Chipperfield himself has received the RIBA Royal Gold Medal for Architecture, Praemium Imperiale, the Heinrich Tessenow Gold Medal, the Wolf Foundation Prize in the Arts, and the Grand DAI Award for Building Culture. In 2010, he was awarded the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany. In the UK, he was knighted for services to architecture in 2010 and appointed a member of the Order of the Companions of Honour in 2021. David curated the 13th International Architecture Exhibition of the Venice Biennale in 2012; served as 2016-2017 Mentor for Architecture for the Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative; and was the 2020 Guest Editor of the architecture and design magazine Domus. In 2017, he founded Fundación RIA, a private, non-profit entity, to research and support sustainable development in Galicia, Spain. David served on the Aga Khan Award for Architecture Master Jury in 2019.