Serbia (Bing and Harrington Balkan Archive)

Serbia, formerly a republic in Yugoslavia, became an independent republic in 2006. Serbia, as part of Yugoslavia, had two autonomous provinces, Vojvodina and Kosovo. At this time (2016), Vojvodina remains as a province; Kosovo is recognized as a separate nation by many countries but not universally. The culture of Serbia has connections to Slavonic, Austrian, Hungarian and Ottoman folk cultures and their vernacular architectural expressions.

The country has three pronounced landscapes (the Pannonian Plain, the mountains of the Dinaric Alps, and the Morava River) that are important factors in the vernacular architecture still found.

Images & Videos
Parent Collections