Masjid Al-Fajr
Indianapolis, United States
In the 1980s, Indianapolis Muslim Community Association (IMCA) - Masjid Al-Fajr was located in two suites on Sherman Drive, just off 38th Street, and subsequently in a house at 529 Leon Street. By 1992, the purpose-built Masjid Al-Fajr had been constructed at the current Cold Spring Road location, and the first Jummah prayers were held on June 28, 1992.

In plan, the brick-faced building consists of two rectangles joined together. A white dome sits above the prayer hall, and a small dome sits over the entrance portico and atop the projecting mihrab. Strong emphasis on separate entrances for men and women is a unique feature of the mosque's architecture. According to Omar Khalidi, it was built by the architect M. Mazen Ayoubi. In addition to prayer space, the masjid includes a community room and a library. A full-time Islamic day school, the Madrasa-Tul-'Ilm, or MTI School of Knowledge, is located on site. 


Butler University Center for Faith and Vocation. "Masjid Al-Fajr." Accessed January 22, 2015.

Khalidi, Omar. Mosques in the United States of America and Canada, 18. Berlin: US Embassy Germany, [ca. 2006].

"Masjid Al-Fajr: Chronology of Recent Events." Masjid Alfajr blog. March 21, 2010, accessed January 22, 2015.  

2846 Cold Spring Road, Indianapolis, United States
Images & Videos
Associated Collections
1991-1992/1411-1412 AH
Variant Names
Islamic Center of Greater Indianapolis
Building Usages