Five Assembly Houses
Various locations, Uganda
The assembly houses are located on government lands on the outskirts of provincial towns near new industrial centers. The residents have relocated from many areas. Each assembly house consists of a communal meeting space with services, and guest rooms. The focal point of each complex is the central space which comprises a restaurant and bar. The long, covered terrace faces the open dance area, which is bound on two sides by a service area, and by guestrooms which are organised in parallel wings. The designs are intended to be adaptable to various sites. Future extensions are foreseen in the layout.
The buildings are constructed in concrete block walls supporting a light roof structure clad with asbestos cement panels. the upper part of the walls are open, slatted screens. The facades are whitewashed.

Source: Aga Khan Trust for Culture
Various locations, Uganda
Images & Videos
Associated Names
Variant Names
Five Assembly Houses
Building Usages
housing development